About us

After several years of exchange and various projects related to the problems of data literacy and data protection issues, Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen and Dr. med. Monique Lehky Hagen, together with her networks, decided to launch a broad appeal to politicians to urgently create a solid foundation for the sustainable implementation and financing of a social data literacy culture. This appeal covers the following areas:

  1. Involvement of the media in this cultural change concerning data literacy;

  2. Integration of data literacy lessons to education and training with adequate programmes from kindergarten level on;

  3. Creation of decentrally networked data literacy centers for quality assurance purposes.

 

These three pillars are fundamental to the sustainable and social development of high-quality data literacy in this digital age. This calls for existing national and international resources and competences to be included as much as possible. The interprofessional approach should be deepened and extended.

The appeal for an urgent national data literacy campaign was launched inter-professionally with and thanks to the support of the KKA/CCM. The KKA supports the project financially and logistically. We would like to thank them very much for this support. In the meantime, many other organisations and individuals from different areas of expertise and the general public have joined our appeal.

In a second step, cooperation projects in the field of data literacy are developed with interested partners. Similar initiatives for greater data literacy are also being encouraged, followed and networked internationally.  "Data literacy - Switzerland" wants to become a platform that enables interested partners and individuals to easily inform, exchange and network about ongoing data literacy projects at a national and international level, and to make these projects and developments visible to the population at the same time.


Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen​
Co-Initiator
''Data literacy - Switzerland''

The statistician Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen, CStat PStat, founded Statoo Consulting in 2001 and regularly consults on applying statistical engineering and thinking to big data analytics and artificial intelligence for businesses and government bodies in Switzerland and across Europe at the operational, tactical and strategic levels.

Currently, he is also the Principal Scientific and Strategic Data Innovation and Data Science Advisor for the Directorate and the Board of Management of the “Swiss Federal Statistical Office” (FSO) in Neuchâtel, Switzerland, and Co-Author of FSO's Data Innovation Strategy and supports the FSO in its operational, tactical and strategic implementation and further development.

In addition, he is since 2016 Professor of Data Science at the “Geneva School of Economics and Management” (GSEM) at the University of Geneva, Switzerland, and Founding Director of GSEM's new “Master of Science in Business Analytics” programme.

In the past, he was also President of the “Swiss Statistical Society” (2009-2015).

Links: About.meTwitter, LinkedIn.  

Selection of publications/articles:

Dr. med. Monique Lehky Hagen
Co-Initiator
''Data literacy - Switzerland''

Specialist for general internal medicine, dedicated to social matters and health policies.

  • Spec. Manual Medicine (SAMM) 

  • Executive MBA with focus on healthcare

  • Certified expert SIM (Swiss Insurance Medicine)

  • Co-President KKA (Conference of Cantonal Medical Societies) since 2018

  • President of the Valais Medical Society since 2013

  • Former board member at the Spital Wallis and foundation board member of the Central Institute of Valais Hospitals (ICH) (2012-2015) 

  • Vice-President of the Sanakvo foundation since 2011

Selection of publications/articles:

En savoir plus

Après plusieurs années d’échanges et de projets communs en rapport avec la problématique de la littératie et la protection des données, Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen et Drsse Monique Lehky Hagen décident de lancer ensemble avec leurs réseaux un large appel au monde politique, demandant d’instaurer de façon urgente une base solide pour l’implémentation et le développement d’une culture de littératie des données sociétale. La demande regroupe les piliers suivants :

  1. ​Implication des médias dans ce changement culturel en littératie des données,

  2. Implication des instances et institutions de formation dans la transmission de la littératie des données à travers des programmes adéquats dès l’école enfantine,

  3. Création de centres de compétence décentralisés permettant l'assurance qualité.

 

Ces trois piliers sont fondamentaux pour permettre le développement pérenne en littératie des données de haute qualité dans notre société à l’ère numérique.  Nous demandons à ce que les ressources et compétences existantes au niveau national et international soient impliquées au mieux possible. L’aspect interprofessionel devrait être renforcé et approfondi. 

L’ Appel à une campagne nationale urgente de littératie des données a été lancé de façon interprofessionnelle grâce au soutien de la Conférence des Sociétés Cantonales de Médecine CCM/KKA. La CCM soutient ce projet de façon logistique et financière. Nous remercions cordialement la CCM pour ce soutien important. Entretemps, de nombreuses autres organisations et personnes individuelles provenant de domaines professionnels variés ainsi que de la population générale ont rejoint notre appel. Nous les en remercions!

 

Dans un deuxième temps, des projets de collaboration seront élaborés dans le domaine de la littératie des données avec des partenaires intéressés. Différentes initiatives similaires pour favoriser la littératie des données sont en cours au niveau international. Elles seront encouragées, intégrées et mises en réseau. 'Data literacy' Suisse souhaite devenir une plate-forme qui permet aux différents partenaires et personnes intéressées de s’informer, s’impliquer, s’échanger facilement dans des projets de littératie des données en cours au niveau national et international. Ces évolutions et réseaux pourraient être ainsi plus facilement visibles et accessibles pour la population.


Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen​
Co-Initiateur
''Data literacy - Suisse''

Le statisticien Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen, CStat PStat, a fondé Statoo Consulting en 2001 et donne régulièrement des conseils sur l'application de l'ingénierie et de la pensée statistique à l'analyse des mégadonnées («big data analytics») et à l’intelligence artificielle pour des entreprises et des organismes gouvernementaux en Suisse et dans toute l'Europe aux niveaux opérationnel, tactique et stratégique.

 

Actuellement, il est également le conseiller scientifique et stratégique principal en matière d'innovation sur les données et en science des données pour la Direction et le Conseil de direction de l’«Office Fédéral de la Statistique» (OFS) à Neuchâtel, Suisse, et co-auteur de la stratégie d'innovation sur les données de l'OFS et il soutient l’OFS dans sa mise en œuvre et son développement opérationnel, tactique et stratégique.

 

En outre, il est depuis 2016 professeur en science des données à la «Geneva School of Economics and Management» (GSEM) de l'Université de Genève, Suisse, et directeur fondateur du nouveau programme «Master of Science in Business Analytics» de la GSEM.

 

Dans le passé, il a également été président de la «Société Suisse de Statistique» (2009-2015). 

Liens: About.meTwitter, LinkedIn.  

 

Séléction de publications/textes:

Dr. med.
Monique Lehky Hagen
Co-Initiatrice
''Data literacy - Suisse''

Médecin spécialiste en médecine interne générale et médecine manuelle, elle s’engage de façon très diversifiée depuis de nombreuses années dans différents domaines sociétaux et dans la politique de la santé. 

  • executive MBA focus Healthcare

  • Médecin-expert certifié SIM (Swiss Insurance Medicine)

  • Co-Présidente CCM (Conférence des Société Cantonales de Médecine) depuis 2018

  • Présidente de la Société Médicale du Valais depuis 2013

  • ancienne membre du Conseil d’Administration de l’Hôpital du Valais et membre du Conseil de Fondation de l’Institut Central des Hôpitaux Valaisans (ICH)  (2012-2015)

  • Vice-présidente de la Fondation Sanakvo depuis 2011

Séléction de publications/textes: